Home > Linux > Fuse WordWeb and Ubuntu Dictionary

Fuse WordWeb and Ubuntu Dictionary

Do you miss WordWeb in Ubuntu like me? Sure, you can install it through Wine and set it to launch at startup and use some hotkey hack. But, why not use Ubuntu’s own dictionary application and tweak it a bit and make it exactly like WordWeb.

WordWeb uses the Wordnet lexical dictionary underneath, used by many other applications as it is free. Ubuntu Dictionary, by default, searches an online dictionary server to fetch your vocab queries. The trick is to download the dictionary data package, install it locally and make it available for the Dictionary app. This is how you do it.

  • Install the dictd server first
    sudo aptitude install dictd
  • Install the Wordnet data files
    sudo aptitude install dict-wn
  • Now, open the Dictionary app (Application -> Office -> Dictionary)
  • Click on Edit -> Preferences
  • On the Source tab, click on Add and set these options:

    Description: Wordnet 3.0
    Transport: Dictionary Server (default)
    Hostname: 127.0.0.1
    Port: 2628 (default)
  • Select the newly added dictionary source and close

That is all you need to get WordWeb like results in Ubuntu

Categories: Linux Tags: , , ,
  1. Darryl Gittins
    January 29, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    Search Everything is very cool, but I’ve noticed a curious problem with it.

    Custom assignment for mouse and keyboard buttons do not work in Search Everything, OR in any file that I open by using Search Everything.

    For example, I have a Microsoft Ergonomic Natural Keyboard 4000, and I’ve changed the keyboard settings – for example the three buttons on the top left (Web, Search, and Mail) are set in Intellitype to Cut, Copy and Paste.

    Similarly, I have programmed my mouse scroll button to be a CTRL key so that when I press the mouse button, I can press a Keyboard key to perform actions such as (CTRL+P to Paste, and so on.)

    I’ve been using these assignments for many years and find them very useful.

    However, the problem is the CTRL assignment for the Mouse scroll key and the custom button assignments for the keyboard do not work in Search Everything, OR in any file that I open by using Search Everything.

    For example, if I search for a Word doc in SE, then double click the located doc, custom assignment for mouse and keyboard buttons do not work in Word. If I then close Word, and then reopen word, and then open that same document from the MRU list, custom assignment for mouse and keyboard buttons do work in Word. This behavior is consistent for numerous apps, including Corel XMetaL, Excel, and others. It’s weird behavior, but 100% reproducible.

    More specific examples:

    I do the following:

    1. I use the (Web) button to copy some text from another program (any program such as notepad).
    2. I start Search Everything, search for a document, and then double-click the document to open it.
    3. I use the (Mail) button to paste the text into the search box.

    When I do this, instead of pasting the text, the default action for the button occurs – Windows opens a Web page.

    Similarly, for example, I do the following:

    1. I use copy some text from another program.
    2. I start Search Everything, click in the search box.
    3. I press mouse scroll button CTRL key and the P key (CTRL+P) to Paste the text into the search box.

    In this case, a “P” appears in the search box instead of the text.

    Any suggestions?

    THANKS FOR READING THIS!!

  2. detj
    January 30, 2010 at 9:16 am

    looks like you have discovered some bugs! I’ve also noticed that the custom keyboard assignments do not work in the current release. Hopefully, that will be fixed in future releases. Search Everything has an active support. Go to the forum and discuss your problems, I’m sure they will look into the matter.
    http://forum.voidtools.com/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment